Farewell.

farewell

Last November, I had a brilliant (or not so brilliant) idea.

I decided to start a facebook page, The Coeliac Hub to share information about coeliac disease and gluten related disorders. I was tired of hearing people complain about issues and the lack of available information on our Maltese social media groups so I thought, why not?

As a health care professional I had access to journals and latest research. As an Australian registered physiotherapist I could search Australian websites and could share this information with people by writing articles that were easier to understand if one did not have a medical background. As my page grew, I realised that most of my followers were from diffrent parts of the world, and I was humbled by that. I wish to thank you all for taking the time to read my posts.

However, I also set up a closed Facebook group so that people from my country could discuss issues that concerned them. My major rule was that there were to be no adverts at all since the other local groups seemed to be full of adverts which for me causes bias.Since then, I have sent countless emails about pending issues in Malta, done hours of research and written up many many articles. However, today I will say goodbye, at least for a while.

I need a break.

Malta is a small island in the middle of the Mediterranean, and we are a passionate bunch. We also like to complain but do nothing about it unfortunately. I am currently viewed as the person who tries to ruin everything for everyone just because I ask questions and try to ensure the law regarding gluten free labelling is abided for our own sakes. A few appreciate my efforts, the reality is that most don’t.

We complain about things, but most of us do not really want things to improve at the end of the day. The idiom ”Nobody does anything for nothing” is really not accurate. I never gained anything from what I do except for a few ”thankyou’s” from a few. I did however, get alot of bad feelings and abuse targeted towards me.

So I wish you all the best of luck. I hope that I will get the courage back to continue with what I have been doing, but for now, as I said, I need a break.

Farewell for a while, and thank you to all of my followers xx

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/mara_earthlight/4693453895/”>Mara ~earth light~</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

9 thoughts on “Farewell.

  1. That is such a shame, but I have seen it happen before where bloggers give of themselves until they have nothing left to give. It is an exhausting business and one must also take care of health;-). The write up you did on communion was an absolute credit to you. Take care of your health and be happy. Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

